In 1890, Italian immigrants from the city of Siderno began pouring into Schreiber to find employment. Many worked on the railway and consequently played a major role in its completion. Cosimo Figliomeni was one such individual and he was responsible for sponsoring other Italian families in coming to Canada. Many of their descendants remain in Schreiber today and the town still boasts of their strong Italian heritage.
Schreiber was officially incorporated as a township on July 13th, 1901. The first meeting of the municipal council was held on August 10th in the school house and the first elected reeve was William Henry Wadlund. One hundred years later, on August 10th 2001, Mayor Bob Krause and council held a special meeting to commemorate the event, at which he remarked: “Over the past 100 years, we haven’t grown that much, but we are still a friendly community with a rich history to share.”
By the early 1900’s, Schreiber’s population had begun to expand and different services were required to meet the increasing needs of the residents. A four-room schoolhouse was soon erected on the corner of Ontario and Winnipeg streets. Churches were being built to accommodate the diverse congregations. In 1909, Dr. Henry S. Crowe, Schreiber’s first family doctor arrived in town and continued to serve the area between Nipigon and White River. In 1924, the Schreiber Continuation School was founded and a four-room annex was added to the public school. The town was showing clear signs of growth and prosperity.
In 1935, Schreiber celebrated its 50th anniversary. Two years later, the highway between Schreiber and Port Arthur was opened, following the completion of the Nipigon Bridge. Prior to the highway’s completion, Schreiber residents could only travel by rail. This event opened up new means of transportation between the communities. In 1939, the King and Queen of England embarked on a Royal Tour of Canada and visited Schreiber to the delight of the residents. The decades following the war showed great changes in Schreiber.